What Others Say

Our Guest Reviews

See our five Star Reviews on Trip Advisor
See our 5 Star Reviews on VRBO

Did you stay in Suite 802? Email us your thoughts.

“ We spent a week at Janell's condo and absolutely loved it. We will make every effort to stay in 802 again every time we head out to Maui. The condo is steps away from the pool and the beach and is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Stunning view from the lanai, especially of the beach/ocean and the nightly sunset. It was difficult to leave and would recommend 802 to anyone thinking of staying in Kaanapali. We definitely plan to be back. Aug 26, 2017 ” — VRBO Review #19465244

“ My family of 5 stayed 2 weeks at the Whaler 802 for the holidays and we couldn't have asked for a better family vacation! JaNell the owner was wonderful to work with before and during our stay. She made us feel welcome and comfortable throughout our stay. The condo is pure luxury beautifully decorated with all top of the line appliances. Everything we needed was at our fingertips, from kitchen essentials to chairs and boogie boards for the beach. The owners did not miss a beat. The views not only from inside the condo but from both sides of the lanai are spectacular. The Whaler location is so close and walking distance to so many restaurants, shopping, water sport activities, spas, etc. We absolutely loved the location! We can't imagine staying anywhere else when we are in Maui. Thank you JaNell and Simon for sharing your beautiful home with us! ” — Thank You

“ We arrived safely yesterday and can not tell you enough how impressed we are with your condo.
We have stayed at The Whaler several times and 802 is by far the best yet. We are not sure how this would ever be topped.
Thank you for the robes and box of chocolates.
Now the rest and relaxation begins.
Have a safe and happy Labor Day. ” — Aloha, Michelle & Chuck Akers

“ Your place here on Maui is a slice of heaven. I have stayed in wonderful places before, BUT, this goes beyond wonderful! Your furniture, decoration are elegant!
I am sitting on the deck watching the waves, waiting for the other two to go Into the ocean,
Thank you for sharing your gorgeous space! ” — Marge Cuddeback

“ Our first experience with Janell and Simon was our trip to Maui in 2002 and we have stayed in their condo every trip since then. They have been very courteous and easy to work with on each on our trips. Our latest trip, 2/24/17-3/9/17, was our 6th stay there. Over the years, the condo has been consistently beyond our expectations. There isn't a more perfect view of Kaanapali Beach or Black Rock. The condo itself has been meticulously kept up to date with top end appliances and furnishings. The kitchen is well stocked with all the needed pots, pans and dishes. The pantry is well stocked as well. The outside cabinet has all the beach equipment needed. (boogie boards, chairs, toys etc.) The Whaler is centrally located on Kaanapali Beach next to the Whaler Village Shopping area with numerous restaurants close by and a 5 minute drive to Lahaina. It is a dream to vacation here. You really never want to leave! ” — Tom L.

“ Spectacular Ocean Front 2BR/2BA Maui Whaler Condo suite 802

This is the second occasion we have stayed in this condominium. Two years ago we stayed for five nights and were so impressed that this we time stayed for three weeks and we were just as impressed.

It is wonderfully appointed and the owners have spared no expense in ensuring that every comfort is provided to their guests. It is is large with panoramic views of the ocean and the surrounding area, with a wraparound lanai for sunbathing as well as dining or just relaxing and listening to the sound of the ocean. Floor to ceiling windows in every room add to a wonderful sense of space.

Snorkelling, body boarding and picnic equipment are provided including beach chairs. The lanai is also beautifully lit at night. From the well-appointed kitchen with everything you need to the overall decoration, the condominium is simply superb. The colour scheme; the furniture and the various objects d'art give it a wonderful oceanside vacation atmosphere. As soon as you walk inside the overwhelming feeling is of being welcomed, everything being comfortable and relaxing you. As you can tell, we simply loved it all. The housekeeper, Kim is absolutely charming and the way in which everything is cleaned is seamless and never interferes with the vacation. The linen and towels are always immaculate and plentiful.

Tower 1 is within very easy reach of the reception area and a concierge service. The beach and the pool are right at your doorstep and all the shopping and restaurants in the Whalers Village are so convenient. The condominium, the buildings and gardens are superbly maintained and there is secure parking During the day and night the Whalers Village presents as a very safe environment both children and adults.
Throughout the whole process of booking the owners were accommodating, extremely courteous and charming. We received a telephone call on our second night just to check that we had settled in and that everything was problem free. JaNell is a very caring owner and no effort is spared to ensure that you feel as comfortable as possible. All these gestures small and large by the owners are much to their credit. We recommend a stay in this suite as being the perfect vacation destination.

It is a big trip for us to travel from the UK but we are determined to do so again for a third time when we are able and not simply because we love Maui but more importantly because we really adore this condominium. ” — Guest, October 2015

“ I just wanted to thank you again for working with me on our stay in your beautiful home at the Whaler. It is furnished and decorated just beautifully and we loved how comfortable the beds were. You didn't miss a thing when you outfitted it and your attention to detail was amazing.

It was a real pleasure doing business with such a quality landlord and the nice person that you are. I will definitely recommend you to my friends, (actually already have), and will stay in touch for the future. ” — Terry L.

“ AMAZING- everything you could imagine and more!!

This is an amazing condo you have to experience for yourself! We've been staying at the Whaler for over 33 years and this was by far the most impressive condo we've stayed in! The condo was spotless, everything you could possibly need was made available to you by the owners and the location/floor is ideal! We will be back year after year! You cannot beat the view from the Lanai! Make this your next the condo you choose for your next Hawaiian vacation! Aloha! ” — The Levinson Family

“ Beautiful Condo

This was my first trip to Hawaii. My husband & I had been planning on going to Hawaii for our 25th wedding Anniversary and I totally picked the best condo on Kaanapali Beach! It was beautifully decorated with the best of everything!
It was fully stocked except for food. There were seasonings, coffee, condiments, etc. already there so I would recommend you going there first to see what food you will need to buy. It is located in the perfect spot on the beach, close to tons of activities. If you are looking for amazing snorkeling, Black Rock is walking distance from the condo. The shower in the Master bedroom is amazing.....Actually everything in the condo is amazingly Beautiful!

JaNell called me the 2nd night to make sure everything was fine. She is very nice & if you have any questions she answers quickly. I feel very fortunate to have found this beautiful condo! If you want the best condo on Kaanapali Beach, BOOK IT! You will fall in love with it, as I did! ” — Guest, September 2015

“ The Best Condo in Maui

The title says it all, this is the best condo in Maui. We go to Kaua'i every year and this year we were celebrating some anniversaries and a graduation so we decided on Maui as it's a favorite of my in-laws. When we saw Whaler 802 on TripAdvisor, Homeaway, etc...and all the great reviews, we knew it was going to be amazing. Once we made contact with Janell and Simon, we were blown away by how responsive and accommodating the owners are and how passionate they are about you enjoying their home. Amazing. It wasn't until we opened the door and walked in the living room that the reality of how amazing the condo is.

Everything in the condo is topnotch. Plenty of room for a party of 5. The beds are super comfortable, the rainfall shower is such luxury, and the corner lanai I could live on listening to the waves pound Kaanapali. If you wonder if you can hear the surf, you can, from all rooms and pretty much we had all the doors open and the sound of the waves crashing at night is so soothing. The best part is that if there's someone who doesn't like that sound, all rooms have their own A/C and you can close a door. The location is perfect, right next to Whalers village and right along the beachwalk. There's a reason they have 20+ 5 star reviews, the condo, the owners, are the best you'll ever deal with in the vacation rental business. Since we're Kaua'i people we might even make more trips to Maui just because of how amazing the condo is. Booking this condo was the best decision we made. ” — Guest from Arizona, May 2015

“ Dream Condo / Dream Location

First of all, a word about the Whaler in general. We found the facilities to be very well maintained and managed, with the right touch of peaceful elegance and class we were seeking for a pleasant vacation. The location could not be better as it rests in the middle of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Easy 5 minute walk to Black rock for what we found to be one of the best snorkeling locations on the island.

Now, about the condo itself......one word >>> amazing! Every detail for a perfect vacation has been meticulously provided for, with top shelf quality and luxury by the owners. The level of comfort and convenience cannot be matched. From the beds to the bathrooms to the audio/video systems to the kitchen appliances, etc., etc. Everything is of the highest quality and maintained to like new condition. This condo is so clean you feel instantly at home and comfortable. This was by far the nicest rental our family has ever stayed in and would highly recommend it to anyone without hesitation. You will not be disappointed! ” — Guest, Michigan, August 2015

“ Why this is the B E S T Condo Experience on Kaanapali Beach!!

1 – The Closest Oceanfront Condo location on Kaanapali Beach
2 – Luxurious Condo with the comforts of home
3 – Gourmet Kitchen with extensive accessories and staples
4 – Condo Owners COMMITTED to Excellent Customer Service

1 – Our family has stayed in every Kaanapali property (excluding the Sheraton) on Kaanapali Beach. They all have their own special characteristics and charm. The Whaler Condo 802 has the best location, comfort, and luxurious amenities. Most of the resorts are all set back from the ocean, and you do not have that feeling of being right on the ocean. Condo 802 is directly in front of the ocean. The soothing ocean sounds truly enhances the level of relaxation during both awake and sleeping hours. The beach in front of The Whaler is one of the best beach sites on Kaanapali Beach for relaxing and swimming. There is a reef directly in front of The Whaler that is good for snorkeling. Black Rock is a short walk from The Whaler that has OUTSTANDING snorkeling and turtle siting opportunities.

2 – The Condo is breathtakingly beautiful and immaculate. The owners, Simon and JaNell, are committed to comfort and luxury. The beds are extremely comfortable. I have sleep challenges “on the mainland” but not in Condo 802. I could not believe how well I slept. This is our 2nd time staying in Condo 802, and I have now stayed in both the guest and master rooms. The sleep situation was outstanding in both rooms. The Master Suite is spectacular. Both rooms are wonderful. However, the Master Suite is incredible! Also, the Lanai is so wonderful. As stated previously, you cannot get any closer to the ocean. We were able to directly watch the whales and site turtles as they swim along the beach line. We even saw a small pod of dolphins swimming close by, as well!!

3 – The kitchen is fantastic! We stayed for 12 nights in Condo 802. (For this trip, we decided to stay more days and dine out less.) We prepared the majority of our meals in the condo. (Martha Stewart would not be disappointed.) Every kitchen utensil and appliance is available. Spices and staples are on hand. We had many gourmet dinners, and we were never deficit for the proper accoutrements.

4 – Simon and JaNell Zemel are outstanding owners. We have stayed in many other Whaler condos. All of The Whaler owners have been wonderful. However, Simon and JaNell set a very high bar for customer service. Shortly after our arrival we received a welcome call from JaNell. She called to ensure that everything in the Condo was accommodating our needs, and she wanted to make certain that we were enjoying our stay in their home. The owners are immediately responsive to any request or issue. We had a minor garbage disposal malfunction. It was immediately addressed and resolved. Simon and JaNell are committed to making your experience in Condo 802 to be relaxing and luxurious. I believe the difference in staying at a 5 Star Resort, and The Whaler Condo 802, is that Condo 802 feels like home. There are wonderful kitchen supplies, toiletries, and laundry supplies. Condo 802 is also stocked with beach gear, which eliminates the need to rent beach gear that you may need during your vacation. Again, the owners are outstanding. They make you feel like you are close friends staying in their home. The only negative issue is leaving. The reentry into reality is very tough after staying at The Whaler Condo 802. ” — Brenda, Portland Oregon, March 2015

“ Aloha JaNell,

I just had to let you know how much we are enjoying your beautiful condo at The Whaler! 802 has exceeded our expectations. We have stayed in many units at The Whaler over the years and by far your attention to detail and genuine care of your guests comfort is more than we have ever experienced.

Thank you for the robes and of course the chocolate didn't last long! ” — Kathy, April 2015

“ Drop dead fabulous choice!

You will love this condo. Location can’t be beat, right on Kaanapali beach beside Whaler Village but on the quiet side. Can see black rock and watch evening torch ceremony, wine in hand, on the wrap around lanai. Beautifully furnished in island style but without the cutesy version you often find. Owners great to work with, very reliable and helpful before you get there and throughout the stay. Have stayed in a number of Whaler condos over the years, most all high floors and oceanfront, and this is my favorite. They also have fully stocked kitchen, including food basics, so it’s particularly nice, like being at home. ” — Guest

“ I sincerely thank you for allowing us the pleasure of renting your Whaler condo. Our travels have never taken us anywhere else with a more outstanding location or finer attention to detail. We enjoy the tasteful decor of the rooms, and are able to completely relax while taking in the beautiful views from the lanai. We look forward to our next opportunity to vacation at your exquisite condo in the future. ” — Guest

“ I just wanted to say thanks for a great 10 days. Everything was absolutely perfect and we could not have asked for anything better. Doug and I will remember this special anniversary. We all appreciated everything you did and your unit was beautiful. Maui was truly paradise!!!! I will keep your name and number and hopefully we will be able to return to that beautiful island. ” — Paula

“ Arrived yesterday and wanted to let you know how much we like your unit. The kitchen is spectacular! The art pieces are wonderful. And the view is the best. ” — Kent

“ Just wanted to say thank you to you and Simon for sharing your home with my family. Your home is beautiful and very much added to a perfect family vacation. Our best to you and Simon for a great new year also. ” — Pat

“ We were introduced to a wonderful restaurant MALA in Lahaina in case you have not eaten there it is excellent. I played golf at Plantation and lanai courses and all I have to say is "0 my Goodness". We will be leaving your home perfect and there were no accidents and nothing is broken. We told our kids that the only way we would be able to come back was if we treated your home as if it were our home so they were quite diligent. Thank you once again and hopefully we will be in touch. ” — B

“ I am sitting on your balcony as I write this email (in the dark) taking in one last moment of your absolutely magnificent home and being one with the ocean and the waves gently crashing below on the beach before we so sadly have to leave today. I wanted to write this email to you while we were still here so that I could express to you the true essence of truly one of the most wonderful experiences of mine and my families lives. It is magical here and I now have a goal to spend as much time as possible on Maui. So let me take this opportunity to thank you and Simon for allowing us to use your beautiful home (it is absolutely perfect in every respect) and let you know that we had a wonderful time and we would like very much to keep in touch with you and to come back again. ” — Guest

“ I just wanted to drop you a short note and let you know how much we enjoyed your Maui Condominium. The location was fantastic and your remodeling was done very well. In previous trips we had stayed at the Kaanapli Alii (which is also very nice). But, the balcony at the Whaler is simply superb. We will definitely like to stay at your unit again next year. ” — Anonymous

“ We really enjoyed our week in 802. It is a beautiful unit with a beautiful view. You are such a nice person to deal with. We assume the picture sitting on the counter in the dining area is a picture of you and Simon. My husband took a picture of the picture so he could show everyone here at home who we rented from. He is a nut!!

Again, thanks so much for letting us enjoy your condo. ” — D

“ Thank you so much.. we have never felt more welcome and stayed in a nicer Condo at the Whaler.. we have been coming to the Whaler for several years and you are such a wonderful Hostess, the welcome gifts were soooooooo unexpected. We are enjoying every day and feel very much at home, thanks to you.. I will speak with you soon about returning. ” — Jen

“ Your condo is outstanding. We have owned rental property ourselves and rented many vacation properties ourselves. The way you have done it as well as it can be done. Some owners take a "minimalist" approach. Some take a "fully functional" approach. A very few decorate it, equip it, and provision it like they were going to be using it. You have done the later, and it sure makes it terrific. It is great not to have to go to the store for 4 bay leaves, or deal with an alarm clock you can't see. We will more than contribute to your pantry inventory with appropriate re- supplies.

Your unit has had light duty with four people for a week and just J and me for the rest of the time.

This is our third year in a row at the Whaler. I think we will take next year off, but we will surely be back. Our first choice will be your lovely unit, so we will try to plan ahead and be in touch early. ” — Geo

“ My family and I are back from our several days in Hawaii and 1. wanted to share with you how pleased we were over the accommodations. The quality of the condo and the outstanding location made our trip to Maui all the more wonderful.

As an interesting aside, we traveled to Maui with another couple who stayed at the Whaler as well (same corner unit, several floors below). As compared to your wonderfully decorated and kept up space, the comparable unit was no comparison whatsoever. It was the difference between a second-rate motel room (their unit) and a place you could really call home (your unit). Your schedule permitting, my family would love to stay at your condo again when traveling back to Maui. And of course, I will highly recommend the unit when friends decide to take an apartment option over a more traditional hotel.

Again, thanks for providing such a first-class home on Maui. It made a great difference.

Happy New Year Our stay is almost over. It has been a very good one. ” — Guest

“ Thank you again for sharing your beautiful home with us. ” — Dan

“ Outstanding vacation experience in a truly amazing condo!!!

This unit is the whole package... Location, view, amenities, creature comforts. We are a party of 5 (3 adults and 2 children) who have traveled to Maui several times and stayed at some very nice condos but I have to say this unit was our best condo experience yet. Everything from the owner interaction (JaNell is wonderful to work with and really cares about her guests) to the condo itself blew us away. I highly recommend this unit to anyone who wants their Maui experience to be special... you will not be disappointed! Thank you JaNell!!! ” — Guest

“ I'm sitting in your beautiful front room looking out at the ocean drinking a tea......it's absolutely stunning! My husband just had a shower and loved it, my daughter is spreading out in her bedroom and my son is watching your big screen (has already said 'mom, wow' about 5 times)

What a delight to be here....

Your attention to detail and your obvious love for this place shows in the details and the way you've stocked your pantry and kitchen...everything we could ever need is here, including your new outside storage cupboard so, thank you, what a wonderful place. ” — S

“ Thank you Simon and JaNell for opening up your beautiful home to us while we were in Hawaii. The location was absolutely perfect and the views were beautiful! We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the morning with our coffee and at night watching the sunset. The condo has everything you could possibly imagine or need. JaNell called to make sure that everything was going good and to see if we needed anything. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who is coming to Maui. They made you feel like you were at home. I would love to come back during whale watching season as I think this would be the perfect spot to watch them. Thank you again! ” — Nancy C, Wisconsin

Make your dream vacation a reality.

Reserve Now

Reserve Your Stay

Please complete the following form with your anticipated dates of stay. We will contact you shortly about your inquiry.
You may also call JaNell directly at 888.659.9044.


Reserve Now